Couch-to-5k Progress – 3.10.14 {+ Weekend Recap}

Week 4 Day 1 – Complete

20140310-164008.jpg

Although you wouldn’t know it because my C25k app had an attitude today.

First, I somehow missed a walk cue.  Today’s run was supposed to go like this: 5min warm-up walk, 3min jog, 1.5min walk, 5min jog, 2.5min walk, 3min jog, 1.5min walk, 5min jog, 5min cool-down walk.  I missed the second 1.5min walk cue.  After that I was all out of sorts.  The last 1/3 of my run did not follow the training at all.

Then, as I was on my cool-down I decided to check my text message that came through while I was jogging.  For some reason when I went back to the app, it was on the home page as if I never even started the training.  So there is no record for today.  Good thing JAG tracked it for me!

20140310-164024.jpg

Today was absolutely beautiful!  A lovely 54 degrees and sunny!  It was pretty easy to get out and get today’s training done.  My 3min jog was hardly noticeable.  The 5min jog did get to me a little but will probably not be noticeable by this time next week… so long as we keep the nice weather.

Warm weather brings lots of puddles since all of the snow is melting.  There were a few that I didn’t mind splashing through, but there were also a few that were pretty deep and I tried to avoid.  Key word tried.  I ended up getting my feet wet pretty early on and they just kept getting more and more squishy.  Somehow, I didn’t seem to mind it too much.  

20140310-191206.jpg

As you’ll notice above, I set my fastest mile to date and my longest trip out.  To celebrate I took a shameless selfie with the little monkey man.  Why yes, I am wearing a tie-dyed shirt.  I made that shirt with/for my brother about 13 years ago.  I don’t think he ever wore it and he ended up giving it to me a year later.  I’ve given that shirt a lot of love in the time since.  For those people who hate tie-dye, I’m sorry for your lack of fun!  😉

Weekend Recap 

40 Days of Active: Day 4 – Walk around Target playing zoom-cart.  That’s where I zoom the cart around like it’s a race car to make William laugh!  Hey, it’s better than sitting on my butt all day!  I also got some new workout buddies that I will introduce you to sometime this week!

40 Days of Active: Day 5 – We took a nice family walk over to the dollar store.  I carried Eva girl so I’d definitely count that as a work out!  That little one gets heavy when she falls asleep and is dead weight.

OH!  And I got this dude in the mail this weekend!

20140310-195321.jpg

I agonized over having to make a decision on which Road ID I wanted.  I really loved the teal Slim but I did NOT want to stretch a silicone band over my wrist on and off each day.  I’m not usually a purple loving gal but I ended up with purple because I like that it was more of a berry color.  The yellow, blue, and green (which would have been my other choices) were more primary and I just liked this berry color a little more.

I looked like a real runner today!

5 thoughts on “Couch-to-5k Progress – 3.10.14 {+ Weekend Recap}

  1. theroamingmind says:

    Sounds a bit like my w4d1 last night. GPS went insane, and recorded a completely different route from the one I ran. I’ll just have to calculate pace and distance with a real map!

    But never mind. We did it, that’s the main thing! 🙂

    • Meg says:

      Absolutely!

      I start my watch at the same time as I start the app and then tuck my phone away so I don’t have to worry about it. I knew I should have been walking at the 20min mark but when I didn’t hear the cue, I thought I had miscounted and just kept jogging. Then I heard the next jog cue and was all messed up from that point on.

      For day 2 I’ll make sure I know exactly when I should be doing each interval so if the app fails, I can still get it done properly just by watching the time!

      I hope your training is going well!

      • theroamingmind says:

        Pretty good, thanks! I think at this stage of the programme, it’s starting to feel like we’re making progress. Five minutes sounded a bit daunting, but it was manageable enough!

    • Meg says:

      I probably will not be wearing mine except for on my runs. Maybe if I someday get the Slim and some fancy badges for it, I might wear it more often. 🙂

Leave a comment